O Marc Marquez προσέθεσε άλλη μία BMW στη συλλογή του, αφού όντας ο καλύτερος qualifier της σεζόν, μάζεψε τους περισσότερους πόντους και κέρδισε το BMW M Awards για το 2016 με έπαθλο μία M2 Coupe.


Ο Marquez είναι ο πρώτος αναβάτης που κερδίζει τον συγκεκριμένο διαγωνισμό 4 φορές συνεχόμενες στην ιστορία του θεσμού και ξεπέρασε τους Valentino Rossi και Casey Stoner που έχουν κερδίσει το BMW M Awards 3 φορές στις καριέρες τους. Η M2 που θα κοσμεί το γκαράζ του Ισπανού, κινείται από έναν twin-turbo 3,0-λίτρο κινητήρα που αποδίδει 370 άλογα.


[learn_more caption=”Δελτίο Τύπου”]

BMW M Award 2016: Marc Márquez makes history with fourth win in a row.

Marc Márquez was the fastest qualifier in MotoGPTM in 2016 for the fourth season in a row, making him the sole record holder – official presentation of the BMW M2 Coupé to the winner at the season finale in Valencia.

Valencia (ES), 12th November 2016. Marc Márquez has continued his winning run in the BMW M Award: the Spaniard was once again the fastest qualifier in the pinnacle of motorcycle racing in the 2016 MotoGPTM season, and picked up the coveted award for the fourth time in a row. This year, his efforts in qualifying were rewarded with a BMW M2 Coupé in Long Beach Blue Metallic (combined fuel consumption: 7.9 l/100 km, combined CO2 emissions: 185 g/km). The BMW M Award was presented for the 14th time in 2016. BMW M Division, long-term partner of MotoGP organiser Dorna Sports, has run this special competition since 2003. Using the same points system as is used for the races themselves, the riders are awarded points according to their qualifying positions at every Grand Prix weekend. The winner receives an exclusive and customised BMW M car at the end of the season. The official presentation traditionally takes place at the final round of the MotoGP season. This year’s prize was presented to Márquez on Saturday in Valencia (Spain) by Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports, and Frank van Meel, President of BMW M Division.

In winning the BMW M Award for the fourth time in a row, Márquez has once again made history. In 2013, Márquez became the first rookie ever to win this prestigious competition. He repeated the success in 2014, and in 2015 became the first rider to win three back-to-back BMW M Awards. He now has his fourth straight win, making him the sole record holder when it comes to BMW M Awards.

The BMW M2 Coupé enjoyed its world premiere in Detroit in January, and immediately caught the eye on the international scene. BMW M’s high-performance coupé has been in action on the racetrack this season as the BMW M2 MotoGP Safety Car – a role, which allows the BMW M2 Coupé to showcase its power and dynamics. The sporty coupé design, muscular form and the driver-oriented cockpit are what characterise this year’s prize in the BMW M Award. The high-performance coupé is powered by a 370-hp inline six-cylinder engine with M TwinPower Turbo technology. The BMW M double-clutch gearbox (M DCG) with Drivelogic ensures sporty, commanding vehicle handling in all situations. The BMW M2 Coupé with M DCG accelerates from 0 to 100 in 4.3 seconds. The sporty look of the car is also underlined by many other features.

“I am very proud to have won the BMW M Award again this year,” said Márquez at the presentation in Valencia. “This award is very coveted among us MotoGP riders, and this success is particularly important for me. I think I have to really think about expanding my garage at home. I am already really looking forward to getting behind the wheel of the BMW M2 Coupé. However I have to say that we already have a little ‘fight’ for the car in our family, as my mother and my brother Alex are also keen to drive the BMW M2 Coupé.”

“Congratulations to Marc Márquez on this success,” said Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. “He is now the sole record holder in this competition, which boasts a long and successful tradition. The fact that the BMW M Award has been presented for the 14th time this year just goes to show how close and strong our partnership is with BMW M Division. The BMW M Award has become a permanent fixture in MotoGP, and we are already looking forward to reaching a small milestone next year, when the award is presented for the 15th time.”

“Marc Márquez is the first MotoGP rider to have won the BMW M Award four times – and in a row. Since 2013 he has regularly come out on top against strong opposition and proven his unquestionable talent as the fastest qualifier in MotoGP. Congratulations on this impressive effort in this historic success,” said Frank van Meel, President of BMW M Division. “The BMW M Award is of great importance to us in our partnership with Dorna Sports. It is important to us to honour the outstanding performances shown by the best motorcycle racers in the world accordingly. As such, we place great importance on ensuring that the winner’s car is very special every year. The new BMW M2 Coupé has impressed all over the world with its impressive combination of power, dynamics and agility, and we are confident that Marc Márquez will also get a lot of joy out of this high-performance coupé.”

As well as Márquez, a further five riders have won the BMW M Award since it was launched. Valentino Rossi and Casey Stoner have won the award three times, Jorge Lorenzo has won the BMW M Award twice so far, and Sete Gibernau and Nicky Hayden have both won it once.