Τα τελευταία 11 χρόνια, έχουμε Γάλλο πρωταθλητή στο WRC. Κάντα 12, αφού ο Sebastien Ogier με τη νίκη του στο Rally Αυστραλίας –η 7η της φετινής σεζόν– κατάφερε να διατηρήσει τον τίτλο και να ανέβει στην 4η θέση της λίστας με τους οδηγούς-πολυπρωταθλητές, πίσω μόνο από τον συμπατριώτη του, Sebastien Loeb και τους Φινλανδούς, Juha Kankkunen και Tommi Makinen.


Στην δεύτερη θέση του podium για το Rally Αυστραλίας, βρέθηκε ο Jari-Matti Latvala, εξασφαλίζοντας για την Volkswagen το τρίτο συνεχόμενο πρωτάθλημα κατασκευαστών. Για την ιστορία, τρίτος στον προτελευταίο αγώνα του Παγκοσμίου Πρωταθλήματος Rally ήταν ο Kris Meeke με το Citroen DS3 του.

[learn_more caption=”Δελτίο Τύπου”]

Volkswagen crowned world rally champions* for third time

Wolfsburg, 13 September 2015

• Volkswagen wins Manufacturers’, Drivers’ and Co-Drivers’ competitions in the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC)
• One-two for the Polo R WRC at the Rally Australia secures titles with three races remaining

Successful title defence: Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F) and the Volkswagen Polo R WRC were crowned world champions* on the back of an extraordinary triumph at the Rally Australia. For the third time in a row, all the titles in the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) go to Wolfsburg. And they do so after another record-breaking performance: a one-two at the Rally Australia, the tenth of 13 WRC rounds on four continents, saw the manufacturer crowned champion in the Drivers’, Co-Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ competitions just three quarters of the way into the season – earlier than any manufacturer before them in the history of the World Rally Championship.

Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN) finished runner-up and Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fløene fourth to complete a dream result for Volkswagen Down Under. They currently lie second and third overall with three rallies remaining.

Victory Down Under was the Polo R WRC’s ninth win in ten rallies so far in 2015. As such, the World Rally Car from Wolfsburg remains the most successful model in WRC history: since Volkswagen returned to the pinnacle of rallying in January 2013, 31 of 36 victories have gone to the Polo R WRC, with the car claiming a total of 62 podium finishes. The 318-hp four-wheel drive powerhouse has contested 668 special stages so far, winning a remarkable 467. A win ration that is second to none.

The titles in the Drivers’, Co-Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ Championships earn Volkswagen World Championship titles number seven, eight and nine within the space of just three years. The manufacturer remains unbeaten with the Polo R WRC at the pinnacle of rallying, which is the most famous motorsport world championship outside of Formula One. The World Rally Championship is regarded as the greatest challenge in motor racing, from both a driving and technical point of view: the 13 events that make up the season are held on four continents, on gravel, asphalt, ice and snow, and in temperatures ranging from minus 20 to plus 40 degrees Celsius.

The final quarter of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) kicks off with the Rally France (01.10.–04.10.2015), which is followed by the Rally Spain (22.10.–25.10.2015) and the Rally Great Britain (12.11.–15.11.2015).

* subject to confirmation from the FIA.