Michelin Challenge Design 2016 winners (1)

Όπως κάθε χρόνο, έτσι και φέτος η Michelin ανακοίνωσε τους νικητές του ετήσιου διαγωνισμού Challenge Design. Φέτος ο διαγωνισμός είχε ως θέμα την Κινητικότητα για όλους και τον σχεδιασμό του μέλλοντος και συνολικά υπήρχαν 14 προτάσεις.

Η επιτροπή έδωσε τη πρώτη θέση στο Google Community Vehicle των Rajshekhar Dass, Abu Huraira Shaikh, Sunny Duseja, Joji Isaac, Saksham Karunakar, και Tajeshwar Kaul από το Πούνε της Ινδίας. Το όχημα της ομάδας προσφέρει σημαντικά οφέλη στους αγρότες της Ινδίας και κατά τη διάρκεια της καλλιέργειας το πίσω μέρος μετατρέπεται σε εργαλείο για τον αγρότη, ενώ στη συνέχεια, όταν οι εργασίες στο χωράφι ολοκληρωθούν, τότε τοποθετείται μια οροφή, επιτρέποντας το όχημα να μεταφέρει επιβάτες.

Στη 2η θέση βρέθηκε το Arriero της ομάδας από τη Κολομβία που και αυτό απευθύνεται για τους αγρότες, ενώ το τρίτο βραβείο πήγε σε ένα όχημα μεταφοράς στο νερό, με τους δύο σχεδιαστές του από την Νότιο Κορέα να το ονομάζουν Bamboo Recumbent και να θέλουν το όχημα να φιλτράρει το νερό, ενώ βρίσκεται εν κινήσει.

[learn_more caption=”Δελτίο Τύπου”]

Winners hail from 13 countries, including United States

GREENVILLE, S.C., Sept. 3, 2015 — Michelin today announced the 14 winners of the global 2016 Michelin Challenge Design, “Mobility for All – Designing for the Next Frontier.”

Works by individuals and teams of designers from Albania, Bahrain, Canada, Colombia, India, Indonesia, Italy, Mexico, Poland, South Korea, Taiwan, United Kingdom and the United States were selected by a distinguished jury of the world’s top automotive designers and industry experts.

The 14 winning designs from the 2016 entries were chosen from more than 875 registrants representing 68 countries. Over 15 years, Michelin Challenge Design has received a total of 8,268 entries from 121 countries.

“The winners of our 2016 Michelin Challenge Design showed tremendous creativity, innovation and focus on providing mobility in a number of diverse applications,” said Thom Roach, vice president of original equipment marketing for Michelin North America. “We congratulate the winners on designing thought-provoking mobility solutions that can potentially provide a source of transportation to an underserved area of the world.”

Selected by the jury as the 2016 Michelin Challenge Design winners:

First place: Rajshekhar Dass, Abu Huraira Shaikh, Sunny Duseja, Joji Isaac, Saksham Karunakar and Tajeshwar Kaul of Pune, India, for design entry “Google Community Vehicle”
Second place: Edgar Andres Sarmiento Garcia of Bogota, Colombia, for design entry “Arriero”
Third place: WooSung Lee and Chan Yeop Jeong of Gyeongsan-si, South Korea, for design entry “Bamboo Recumbent”

Additional winners of the 2016 Michelin Challenge Design are (in alphabetical order):

Nathan Allen of Redding, Calif., for design entry “Stator Scooter”
M.Y. Alief Samboro and Agri Bisono of Malang, Indonesia, for design entry “LOGon”
Sergio Botero of Medellin, Colombia, for design entry “Capicua”
Nicholas Lee Dunderdale of the United Kingdom, for design entry “Panda”
Ryan Ebbers of Newmarket, Ontario, for design entry “DMine”
Mike Lai, Joe Wu and Johnny Li of Taipei, Taiwan, for design entry “M-Clinic”
Hung-Ju Lee of Taiwan, for design entry “Loxodon”
Conner Macfarlane and Collin Lafayette of Ore., and Danville, Calif., (respectively) for design entry “URRU”
Armando Mercado of Mexico City, Mexico, for design entry “Tire Assembly is Required”
Marin Myftiu, Hussain Almossawi and Huracan Motors of Tirana, Albania; Manama, Bahrain; and Venice, Italy (respectively), for design entry “Huracan City Rover”
Arkadiusz Stoklosa, Michal Maciukiewicz and Thomasz Kwolek of Tarnobrzeg, Krakow and Mielec, Poland (respectively), for design entry “Volkswagen Monsoon”
(Images of the winning entries are available at www.michelinchallengedesign.com).

A representative designer from each of the three winning teams will be invited to attend the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) as guests of Michelin and will be recognized during Michelin’s annual private DESIGNER’S RECEPTION. Michelin will display the designs of all 14 winners at the 2016 NAIAS in Detroit in January. All members of each winning team are invited to join an exclusive online community restricted to Michelin Challenge Design winners and jurors.

“The jury was highly impressed by the ingenious, often simplistic and creative mobility solutions that were submitted for this year’s Michelin Challenge Design competition,” said Stewart Reed, Michelin Challenge Design jury chairman and chair of the Transportation Design Department, Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, Calif. “Designing mobility for all is such an important topic in the automotive industry. Receiving entries from nearly 70 countries reinforces the importance and global nature of Michelin Challenge Design.”

2015 Michelin Challenge Design Jury:

Stewart Reed; Chair, Transportation Design Department, Art Center College of Design, Consultant and Jury Chairman, Michelin Challenge Design
Nick Malachowski, Design Manager, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles
Dave Marek, Acura Global Creative Director, Honda R&D Americas, Inc.
Rich Plavetich, General Manager, Design Business, Nissan Design America
Frank Saucedo, Director, General Motors Advanced Design Studio
Thomas Sycha, Design Manager, BMW Group Design, Europe
Freeman Thomas, Director, Strategic Design, Ford Motor Company

About Michelin North America
Dedicated to the improvement of sustainable mobility, Michelin designs, manufactures and sells tires for every type of vehicle, including airplanes, automobiles, bicycles, earthmovers, farm equipment, heavy-duty trucks and motorcycles. The company also publishes travel guides, hotel and restaurant guides, maps and road atlases. Headquartered in Greenville, S.C., Michelin North America (www.michelinman.com) employs more than 22,750 and operates 20 major manufacturing plants.